2021 FIFA Club World Cup Information


(Source: FIFA)

The announcement was unveiled today at a meeting with the FIFA council. At the conclusion of the meeting it was announced that China will host the tournament and the tournament will take place between June and July in 2021.

The qualifying process will be officially announced at a later date.

Hosts: China

Teams: 24 Teams will compete.

Dates: 17th June – 4th July

Qualifying Process: TBD

The selection process for the tournament participants will be decided following a consultation between FIFA and the six confederations.

CAF (Africa) – 3 Teams

AFC (Asia) – 3 Teams

UEFA (Europe) – 8 Teams

CONCACAF (N. & C. America) – 3 Teams

OFC (Oceania) – 0.5 Teams

CONMEBOL (South America) – 6 Teams

Host Nation – 0.5 Teams

Format of the Tournament

The tournament will feature 24 teams, with a play-off between the league champion of the home nation and the OFC representative. For context if the tournament was held next year it will be Hienghène Sport, the winner of the 2019 OFC Champions League against the winners of the 2019 Chinese Super League winner, Guangzhou Evergrande or Beijing Guoan or Shanghai SIPG, to determine the final participant.

The Group Stage will consist of 8 Groups of 3 Teams. The Winners of each group will advance to the Quarter-Finals and the tournament will become a knockout tournament.

About Author

%d bloggers like this: